Coordinating Committee

Karen Lynch, Coordinating Committee Co-Chair 

Karen is the Manager of Strategic Initiatives for Peterborough County.

Michael Papadacos, Coordinating Committee Co-Chair

Michael is the Asset Management & Capital Planning Director for the City of Peterborough and oversees a team of dedicated professionals working to make the City of Peterborough more environmentally, economically and socially sustainable, with a focus in the areas of transportation planning, water resource systems planning, climate change, and urban forestry. Michael and his family moved to Peterborough in 2017 so he could complete a Master’s degree in Sustainability Studies from Trent University. Prior to joining the City in 2019, Michael worked as a municipal engineering consultant helping communities across Southern Ontario to plan, build and maintain the assets required for delivering critical services to residents and businesses in the face of a changing climate. He has been the City’s representative on the Sustainable Peterborough Coordinating Committee since 2019 and assumed the role of co-chair, with the County’s Karen Jopling, in 2022.

Meredith Carter, Coordinating Committee Past Vice-Chair

Meredith Carter is currently the Manager of the Watershed Management Program at Otonabee Conservation which includes the Drinking Water Source Protection Program, Flood Forecasting and Warning, Watershed Health Monitoring, environmental stewardship and education. Meredith has 20 years of experience in natural resource management, is a graduate of the University of Guelph, and has attended Trent University, Fleming College, and Loyalist College.

Matt Strano, Peterborough & the Kawarthas Economic Development Board of Directors appointed representative

Matt graduated from Wilfrid Laurier University with a Degree in Economics and Business (1999) and completed his EMBA from the Ivey Business School/Western University (2012). Matt has previously held positions as a Commercial Financial Analyst with the TD Bank and as General Manager to Summit Foods, the largest Canadian-owned broad-line foodservice distributor. Matt is Charlotte Products‘ Chief Executive Officer providing leadership and vision while overseeing the day-today operations of the business and the Peterborough & the Kawarthas Economic Development Board of Directors appointed representative on the Sustainable Peterborough Coordinating Committee.

Since 1986, Charlotte Products Ltd™ has been helping people everywhere live healthier and safer lives. We are the pioneers of certified green cleaning and a leading performance formulator and manufacturer globally supporting our partners by creating effective, healthy and environmentally responsible cleaning solutions. We combine sustainable, green certified and innovative products with simplified programs, product training and resources by market segment, to inspire our customers to join us as industry experts creating safe healthy spaces. Given today’s climate with the current SARS-CoV-2 (Coronavirus) and COVID-19 Disease globally, Charlotte Products shared insight and knowledge transfer has never been more important.

Dawn Berry-Merriam 

Dawn Berry Merriam has over 35 years experience in municipal, provincial and community planning. Her expertise is gleaned from her work with community organizations and varying levels of government as well as government agencies.

This experience ensured that Dawn understands the dynamics of organizations and the evolving face of the infrastructure of health/social services and community change. She continues to work for sustainable environmental improvements that include both the social and physical infrastructure of the Peterborough region. Dawn’s farming background has helped her understand and advocate for strong rural communities.

Dawn chairs the Age-friendly Peterborough Advisory Committee and is co-chair of the Peterborough Immigration Partnership.  A founding member of the original working group, Dawn continues to work with the Peterborough Alliance for Food & Farming.

Joel Wiebe

Joel is the Vice President of Government Relations & Communications for the Peterborough & the Kawarthas Chamber of Commerce.

Wendy Hicks

Wendy Hicks is a Course Instructor at Trent University.

Julie Bromley

Julie is the Manager, Environmental Health, for Peterborough Public Health.

Tegan Moss

Tegan Moss is the Executive Director of GreenUP.

Trish O’Connor 

Trish oversaw sustainability at Fleming, including campus sustainability, sustainability curriculum (AASHE Centre for Sustainability across the Curriculum), planning, reporting, community partnerships and program development. Prior to Fleming, Trish worked for the Ontario government, in environmental and municipal planning, environmental assessment, training and organizational development. Trish’s 17 years of academic leadership experience includes strategic planning, organizational development, continuous improvement, academic operations and teaching. At Fleming, Trish has led the development of two multi-year sustainability plans and three STARS (Sustainability Tracking Assessment and Rating System) reports, with Fleming recently achieving a STARS Gold. Trish was involved in the development of a Regional Centre of Expertise in Sustainability Education for the Kawartha region, a designation awarded by the United Nations University.  Trish holds a Master of Adult Education with a focus community development and sustainability in higher education, a Bachelor of Education, a joint Bachelor’s degree in environmental studies and economics, and a Lean Black Belt certification.

Sarah Forrest

Sarah is the Program & Outreach Coordinator for the Kawartha World Issues Centre.


Sustainable Peterborough Coordinating Committee Terms of Reference

Sustainable Peterborough Coordinating Committee Reference Manual